Weapon Damage Ranges

Homepage Forums Gaming Codex Martialis Rules Weapon Damage Ranges

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    DrakeTungsten
    Participant

I have a question which isn’t limited to Codex Martialis, but any DnD-based weapon stats, which you guys seem well-equipped to answer…

How realistic is it for larger weapons to cause something like 1d12 damage range? I have no real-life experience with weapons or martial arts, but it always seemed odd to me that something like a battle axe can land a hit, but it’s just as likely to be a nick (rolled 1 for damage) as a normal amount of damage. To this layman, a nick from a battle axe wound seems nearly impossible. Am I off-base with this, and the damage ranges from DnD (which I don’t think you guys deviated much from) are about as realistic as anything else in the combat rules?

Jean Chandler
    Keymaster

Well I don’t think you are completely wrong, but wounds from weapons like axes and swords do seem to lead to a range of effects. Quite often they can cause horrific damage, but almost equally as often relatively minor wounds seem to result. A lot depends on the wielder of the weapon, (a more experienced person is more likely to cause more serious wounds) and the quality of the weapon. But it seems like small wounds do routinely result.

(Before clicking this link please be aware, IF YOU ARE SENSITIVE TO IMAGES OF WOUNDS, DON’T CLICK)

For example https://i2-prod.mirror.co.uk/incoming/article5515583.ece/ALTERNATES/s615b/PAY-finger-chopped-off-with-axe.jpg

this guy was wounded about 15 times in an attack with an axe. He lost a finger and suffered numerous serious lacerations, but nothing fatal. As you can see most of the wounds aren’t that deep.

Now of course, this was probably an axe used for chopping wood, not a purpose made weapon. We assume ‘real’ weapons do more damage. I relied on published FBI statistics to get a sense of this.